Homestead Exemption is a tax reduction allowable to homeowners who make their property their permanent residence. If approved, this exemption could reduce the taxable value of your residence by up to $50,000. The first $25,000 of this exemption applies to all taxing authorities. The second $25,000 of exemption excludes School Board taxes and applies to properties with assessed values between $50,000 and $75,000. As a result, the homeowner would enjoy a substantial savings on the taxes levied on their property by the various taxing authorities.
Homeowners must file an initial application once they have moved into the property. The Homestead Exemption will be automatically renewed each year and a renewal receipt will be mailed to them as long as NO changes have occurred to their exemption status. (i.e. mailing address, marital status, etc.)
It is, however, the responsibility of the owner to notify the Property Appraiser of any change in their exemption status. Florida law requires the filing of a new application when any title change is made.
As of January 1st, you must:
- be a legal resident of Seminole County
- have recorded legal or beneficial title to the property on which you are applying
- be making the property your permanent legal residence
- January 1st through March 1st - Regular Filing time (For the current tax year)
- March 2nd through December 31st - Prefiling (For the upcoming tax year)
For the best service and so that you can avoid long lines at the regular filing time, we recommend prefiling your application.
- File in person
- File by mail
- File on-line
New homeowners can expect to receive a postcard with instructions on how to file on-line. You can also call to have an application mailed to you. If you prefer, you can bring the required information to our office and we will be glad to assist you in filing. In any case, the application must be completed and submitted to our office along with the proper proof of residency information.
You may also download a blank application from the Download button on our main page. Please provide your name, address and Property ID number at the top where requested. Property ID can be obtained from the Record Search.
Proof of residency information:
- If you drive you must provide a copy of your Florida Driver's License that reflects the address of the property for which you are seeking the exemption. A copy of your spouse's Florida Driver's License is required even if they are not on title. (If more than one person is applying for exemption, the Florida Driver's license reflecting the property address must be provided for each applicant)
- If you do not drive you must provide the following:
- Copy of Florida Identification card reflecting the property address
- Affidavit of non-driver
- Seminole County Voter's Registration or a recorded Seminole County Declaration of Domicile
- If you are not a U.S. citizen, you must provide a copy of your resident alien (green) card.
- You must provide social security numbers for all applicants, their spouse or any occupant who may be entitled to the exemption
Main Office: Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., Seminole County Services Bldg., 1101 East First Street, Sanford Florida
Remember the deadline to file is March 1st!
SENIOR CITIZEN EXEMPTION
Additional homestead exemptions of up to $25,000 are decided by the County and City commissioners but it is important to note that school taxes and independent tax districts (such as water management districts) cannot be waived. Seminole County Commissioners voted to allow $50,000 of assessed value be exempted for qualified Seniors from county millage. City of Altamonte Springs qualified seniors will also receive $50,000 of assessed value to be exempted from the city millage - beginning in Tax Year 2008; qualified senior applicants residing in the City of Casselberry are already entitled to exemption from the city millage = $5,000 of assessed value. These additional exemptions are in excess of the standard homestead exemption.
*Once the property owner has the senior exemption in place, it will be automatically renewed. There is no need to contact this office unless you no longer qualify. New applicants will be exempted accordingly.
For your convenience, applications with instructions are being included with automatic homestead renewal notices scheduled to be mailed towards the end of January.
- An application – or renewal application - must be made each year by March 1st.
- At least owner must be 65 years of age as of January 1st in the year that application is made.
- Total household income must not exceed the limit imposed by law (starting January 1, 2001, the $24,214 annual income limit will be adjusted annually by the percentage change in the average cost-of-living index ).
- A completed and signed application.
- Proof of the applicant(s) age and non-social security income.
- A valid Florida drivers license or Florida ID card.
- Certified copy of a birth certificate.
- A marriage certificate showing full name and date of birth.
- A valid passport.
- Any other official or certified record that demonstrates the applicant(s) true age to the satisfaction of the property appraiser.
- It means "Adjusted Gross Income" as defined by the Internal Revenue Service.
- Household income also means income that would be subject to tax if you were required to file a federal tax return.
- Social Security income is excluded UNLESS some of your social security is subject to income tax.
- Household income includes payment that you received from renters or boarders but excludes income that they earned or received.
- State law does not allow the property appraiser to grant a senior's exemption unless supporting documentation of household income is submitted with your application (includes each member of your household except renters or boarders)
- Household income should be supported and accompanied by copies of any corresponding tax returns, wage and earnings statements (W-2 forms), 1099 forms, Social Security statements, etc.
- If you decide to stop by in person, please bring copies of your proof of age and income. Or-
- Use the convenience of mail and avoid long lines at our counters (be sure to sign and date your application and attach proofs of age and income ).
In addition to determining values, the Property Appraiser accepts applications for and administers property tax exemptions.
Several types of exemptions are available. The type of exemption benefiting the largest number of property-owners is the homestead exemption. If you own property which you use as your primary residence as of January 1, you may apply for homestead exemption. . This will reduce the taxable value of your home up to $50,000, resulting in substantial savings on your property taxes.
Other types of exemptions include: religious, charitable, educational,senior, veteran, widow, widower, blind and permanently disabled. Any new exemption or change in exemption status should be filed as soon as possible, but no later than March 1.
OTHER EXEMPTIONS AVAILABLE
At least one owner must be 65 years of age as of January 1st in the year that
application is made.
Total household income must not exceed the limit imposed by law. (more..)
Must be a widow or widower. May not be divorced or remarried. Attach a copy of your late spouse's death certificate
Disability - (non-service connected)
Must be considered totally and permanently disabled. Attach physician certificate (DR-416) from one(1) licensed Florida physician.
Must be considered legally blind. Attach a copy of a letter from the Division of Blind Services, Veteran's Administration, or an Optometrists certificate (DR 416B) from one(1) licensed Florida Optometrist.
Disability - (service connected)
Must have a service-connected disability of 10% or more. Attach VA form letter 27-125 from the Veteran's Administration. (Letters dated after January 1st will qualify for the following year)
Disability - (non-service connected)
- Must be considered totally and permanently disabled and meet an income requirement. Attach physician certificates (DR 416) from two (2) licensed, professionally unrelated, Florida physicians. A notarized Gross Income Statement with proofs of income.
- Special Notes:
- Income limitation does not apply to quadriplegics.
- Persons other than quadriplegics, paraplegics or hemiplegics must use a wheelchair for mobility to qualify for this exemption.
Disability - (service connected)
Must have a service connected total and permanent disability. Attach VA form letter 27-333 from the Veteran's Administration. (Letters dated after January 1st will qualify for the following year)
PLEASE NOTE: Physician certificate forms and income statements may be obtained from our office or downloaded from our website.